Full Members

Physics | Chemistry

Physics Members

benjamin-1c8ida0Benjamín Alemán – Assistant Professor of Physics
baleman@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Physics and synthesis of low-dimensional systems; nanoelectromechanical systems; solid-state defect centers and qubits; quantum and nanoscale-based sensing and microscopy; photonics; microfluidics.

 

DietrichDietrich Belitz – Professor of Physics
dbelitz@uoregon.edu

Research Interests: Quantum many-body problems, including superconductivity, magnetism, transport processes, and quantum phase transitions, in particular metal-insulator transitions and magnetic transitions.

 

corwinEric Corwin – Associate Professor of Physics
ecorwin@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Atomic force microscopy of single molecule proteins, structure and dynamics of jammed athermal packings.

 

 

 

miriamMiriam Deutsch – Professor of Physics
miriamd@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Developing new fabrication techniques for metallo-dielectrics with multi-scale spatial features. Theoretical modeling and numerical simulations of the materials we fabricate, as well as other novel functional metal structures.

benjamin-1c8ida0Stephen Gregory – Associate Professor of Physics
sgregory@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Tunneling and near-field optical microscopy, molecular electronics.

 

 

haydockRoger Haydock – Professor of Physics
haydock@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Electronic structure and processes at surfaces, computational physics, quantum chaos.

 

 

kevanStephen D. Kevan –Professor of Physics
kevan@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Surface and thin film physics; electronic structure and collective excitations at surfaces; nanoscale spatial and temporal fluctuations in magnetic and otherp complex materials.

livelybrooksDean Livelybrooks – Senior Tentured Instructor of Physics
dlivelyb@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Science education/outreach, magnetotellurics, dynamic margin model constraints.

 

 

McMorran1Ben McMorran – Assistant Professor of Physics
mcmorran@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Free electron physics and interferometry, matter wave optics, electron microscopy, magnetic materials.

 

 

RaghuPicRaghuveer Parthasarathy – Associate Professor of Physics
raghu@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Material properties of biological membranes, mechanisms of protein organization, advanced microscopy techniques.

 

 

taylorRichard P. Taylor – Professor of Physics
Director, Materials Science Institute
rpt@uoregon.edu

Research Interests: Quantum chaos and fractals in electronic nano-devices, with applications in solar devices and retinal implants. Visual science of fractals.

 

 

tumblr_inline_nh2534xupl1shweh8Tristan Ursell – Assistant Professor of Physics
tsu@uoregon.edu

Research Interests:
We use tools from microscopy, mechanics, computational modeling, and statistical physics to understand how cells move and invade, how cells die, and how cells engage in collective behavior that benefits the group over the individual, in a variety of natural and medically relevant settings.

 

Chemistry Members

post_0015_boettcher

Shannon W. Boettcher – Associate Professor of Chemistry
swb@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: The capture and storage of solar energy in a collaborative interdisciplinary environment, utilizing inorganic synthesis, nano and microscience, surface chemistry, simulation, physical measurement, and device fabrication to design, build and study new materials and structures.

 

post_0012_doxsee

Kenneth M. Doxsee – Professor of Chemistry
doxsee@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Inorganic chemistry – designed synthesis of metastable phases, phase- and shape-selective crystallization of solid-state materials. Development of environmentally benign methods for the synthesis of solid-state materials.

post_0011_guenza

Marina G. Guenza Professor of Chemistry
mguenza@uoregon.eduResearch Interests:Development of novel, molecular-scale, statistical-mechanical theories of the structure and dynamics of complex materials

 

post_0010_haley

Michael M. Haley – Professor of Chemistry
haley@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Synthesis of non-natural carbon networks and substructures; optical and nonlinear optical materials.

 

James E. Hutchison – Professor of Chemistrypost_0009_hutchison
hutch@uoregon.edu

Research Interests: Nanoelectronics, chemically-modified surfaces, green materials chemistry.

 

 

post_0008_jasti

Ramesh Jasti – Associate Professor of Chemistry
rjasti@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: The bottom-up organic synthesis, characterization, and application of new nanocarbon architectures.

 

post_0007_johnson

Darren W. Johnson – Professor of Chemistry
dwj@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Inorganic, Organic, Supramolecular and Materials Chemistry.

 

 

post_0013_d-johnson

David C. Johnson – Professor of Chemistry
davej@uoregon.edu

Research Interests: Novel approaches to solid state synthesis of new materials.

 

 

 

 

 

post_0006_lonerganMark C. Lonergan – Professor of Chemistry
lonergan@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Study of polymer blends, composites and copolymers in which at least one component is optically or electrically active, such as a conducting polymer or inorganic superconductor.

 

post_0005_nazinGeorge Nazin – Assistant Professor of Chemistry
gnazin@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: The connection between the chemical structure and properties of nanoscale materials and devices. In particular, real-space experimental approaches that provide spectroscopic informaiton on the atomic and molecular scales.

post_0004_pageCatherine J. Page – Associate Professor of Chemistry
cpage@uoregon.eduResearch Interests: Novel synthetic routes to functional materials, including self-assembly of multilayer thin films and sol-gel synthesis of complex oxides.

 

post_0003_pluthMike Pluth – Associate Professor of Chemistry
pluth@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Molecular recognition at the interface of organic/inorganic chemistry and chemical biology.

 

 

post_0002_prellJames Prell – Assistant Professor of Chemistry
jprell@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: The Prell Group uses state-of-the-art mass spectrometry and ion mobility experiments to learn how soft materials, such as biological membranes, are structured at the nanometer size scale and below.

 

post_0001_richmondGeraldine L. Richmond – Professor of Chemistry
richmond@uoregon.edu
Research Interests: Optical studies of interfacial structure and dynamics.

 

 

David Tyler – Professor of Chemistrypost_0000_tyler
dtyler@uoregon.edu

Research Interests: Inorganic materials, polymer chemistry, photochemistry.

 

 

Cathy Wong – Assistant Professor of Chemistrywong2
cwong3@uoregon.edu

Research Interests: In situ ultrafast spectroscopy of materials formation.